Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Florida logo

University of Florida · Department of Health Services Research, Management and Policy

Full-Time Residential MHA

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

The full-time residential MHA is a 21-month cohort program of 20 courses totaling 50 credit hours, with a required 400-hour internship between the first and second year. Applications for the fall start are accepted November 1 to April 1.

Official program name
Full-Time Residential MHA
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Gainesville, FL
Required credits
20 courses totaling 50 credit hours
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
21 months including internship
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

UF also offers a Weekend Hybrid MHA with different credits and admission requirements (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    400-hour internship between the first and second year

    Published hours:
    400 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Other

  • Professional Development Seminar (HSA6105) integrating first- and second-year students; case competitions.
    Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredPrior bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited U.S. institution or equivalent
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — At least a 3.0 grade point average
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredThree quantitative college-level courses (9+ credit hours) with a B or better, or the GRE as a substitute
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
Not requiredHealthcare experience is not required; management and leadership experience strengthens the application.
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose and extended response questions
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters: one academic and one professional reference
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — Non-refundable application fee of $30
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional — minimum 300Required only as a substitute when the quantitative coursework requirement is not met: 150 quantitative, 300 overall.
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 90Non-U.S. and Puerto Rican applicants; exemptions may apply.
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL; exemptions may apply.
Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 — April 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Graduate research or teaching assistantships AssistantshipCompetitive

    About $10-$15 per hour and a tuition waiver for up to nine semester hours in fall and spring, six in summer · one, two, or three semesters

    Eligibility: Some students are appointed; about 10 hours per week

    Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Shaul MBA/MHA scholarship ScholarshipCompetitive

    An amount sufficient to cover tuition and related instructional materials

    Eligibility: Florida residents with financial need; preference for a prior business school bachelor's degree

    Source: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationResidential MHA programCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: phhp.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. phhp.ufl.edu/academics/masters-programs/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. phhp.ufl.edu/academics/masters-programs/mha/full-time-residential-mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. phhp.ufl.edu/academics/masters-programs/mha/how-to-appy/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. phhp.ufl.edu/academics/masters-programs/mha/mha-frequently-asked-questions/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. phhp.ufl.edu/academics/masters-programs/mha/tuition-and-scholarships/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. phhp.ufl.edu/admissions/applications-and-deadlines/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Central Florida

Master of Health Administration

Health Administration (MHA) - Residential Track

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Orlando, FL
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 57 credits
Tuition: $369.65 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $72,759.36 (57 credits × $1,276.48 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (240 hours)
View Program
University of Miami logo

University of Miami

Juris Doctor and Master of Health Administration

J.D./M.H.A. in Health Administration and the Law

Master'sJD/MHAJoint degree
Location: Coral Gables, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 3-Year Program with 2 Summers (sample plan of study) (sample plan; actual sequence may vary) · 114 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: Coral Gables, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 18 months · 40 credits
Tuition: $2,457 per credit · All students · 2027-2028Est. total tuition $98,280 (40 credits × $2,457 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: applied capstone project
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.