Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Rush University · Department of Health Systems Management

Master of Science (MS) in Health Systems Management - Residential Track

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Systems Management

Master'sMSDedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 58-credit, largely in-person cohort program in Chicago completed in two years full time or four years part time, with a required 440-hour healthcare management internship for full-time students (usually a part-time student job) and a two-part master's project.

Official program name
Master of Science (MS) in Health Systems Management - Residential Track
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Systems Management
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Chicago, IL
Required credits
58 credit hours
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2 years (full-time) or 4 years (part-time)
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The Executive Track (online with onsite weeks) is recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Systems Management (health systems management is an eligible dedicated title).

Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Full-time students complete at least 440 hours of healthcare management internship work, usually via a part-time student job (HSM 620/622); part-time students take a separate internship course.

    Published hours:
    440 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Project

  • Master's Project I and II and a strategic management capstone
    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • At least 16 documented contact hours of professional or community service
    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college or university
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedQuantitative coursework (accounting, statistics, economics) highly recommended
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement and resume
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three references through HAMPCAS
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVirtual interview with admissions committee members
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredNot able to accept international applicants requiring an F-1 visa
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplication through HAMPCAS
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredIf native language is not English.
Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    Early application deadline: Dec. 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    Feb. 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    Apr. 3 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,322per creditEstimated tuition$76,676 = 58 credits × $1,322 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $76,676 (58 credits × $1,322 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health Systems ManagementCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: rushu.rush.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Governors State University logo

Governors State University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration, M.H.A.

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: University Park, IL
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 2 years for students taking at least 3 courses (9 credit hours) per semester; part-time 2.5 to 3 years (At least 3 courses or 9 credit hours per semester) · 54 credits
Tuition: $26,784 (basis not stated by the institution) · Resident (in-state) — In-state tuition as stated on the program page (basis not stated) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Optional: field experience, administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Rush University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.