Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Governors State University logo

Governors State University · Department of Health Administration and Informatics

Health Administration, B.H.A.

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Health Administration

Bachelor'sBHADedicated degree AUPHA certified

Overview

A 120-credit Bachelor of Health Administration offered in a hybrid format with evening and some online classes, including a 150-hour practicum placement arranged by the program. The major is AUPHA-certified and admits students on a rolling basis for fall, spring and summer.

Official program name
Health Administration, B.H.A.
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Health Administration
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
University Park, IL
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

Entry routes are not published on the pages we checked. Do not assume first-year, transfer or second-degree entry — ask the admissions office.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Bachelor of Health Administration.

Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    Health Administration Practicum (HLAD 4099) with 150 hours of field experience; placement arranged by the program administration.

    Published hours:
    150 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arranged by the program
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Internship

  • Successful completion of 150 hours of field experience is a degree requirement.
    Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — GPA of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
Not requiredNo previous experience in healthcare is required
Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall, Spring, Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Undergraduate, U.S. Resident, 1-11 credit hours, per credit hour (AY 2026-2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$380per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$45,600 = 120 credits × $380 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Undergraduate, U.S. Resident, 12+ credit hours, flat rate per term (AY 2026-2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,477per term · 2026-2027Source: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) — certification: certifiedProgram covered: Bachelor of Health AdministrationAUPHA certification is a peer-reviewed undergraduate certification, not accreditation. About AUPHA certificationSource: govst.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. govst.edu/academics/colleges-and-schools/college-health-and-human-services/department-health-adminis — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. govst.edu/academics/programs/health-administration-bha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. govst.edu/sites/default/files/2026-03/CHHS_BHA_FactSheet_0125_MS_Finalized%284%29.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. govst.edu/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: San Marcos, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Governors State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.