Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Grand Valley State University logo

Grand Valley State University · Public, Nonprofit, & Health Administration

Master of Public Administration - Health Administration concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Public Administration — Health Administration

Master'sMPANamed concentration

Overview

A NASPAA-accredited MPA on the Pew Grand Rapids Campus in which students complete an 18-credit concentration; the Health Administration concentration requires health administration and health policy courses plus four electives, with an internship for pre-career students.

Official program name
Master of Public Administration - Health Administration concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Public Administration
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Other degree with a healthcare administration concentrationNamed option: Health AdministrationAnother degree (public administration, health sciences, business, management…) with an officially named healthcare administration or management concentration. The awarded degree is the other field.
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Allendale, MI
Required credits
36 credit hours, including 18 credits of required core courses (catalog)
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Part-time students who take six credits per semester complete the MPA degree in seven semesters. (Part-time at six credits per semester)
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Winter, Spring/Summer
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The program page also lists courses offered in the evening and online.

Why this program is listed

MPA with an officially named Health Administration concentration.

Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    PNH 690 Public Administration Internship I required for pre-career students

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Health Administration concentration requires PNH 630 and PNH 631 plus four selected courses.
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay on career and educational objectives (250-750 words)
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — $30 nonrefundable application fee, waived if applied previously to GVSU
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredMay be requested when GPA is lower than 3.0.
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    August 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Winter

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 1 · for Spring/Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Public Administration (M.P.A.) - College of Education and Community InnovationFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$859per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,924 = 36 credits × $859 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $30,924 (36 credits × $859 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Public Administration (M.P.A.) - College of Education and Community Innovation, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Public AdministrationSource: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. gvsu.edu/catalog/program/master-of-public-administration.htm — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. gvsu.edu/financialaid/tuition-fees-26-27-268.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. gvsu.edu/pnha/lead-the-way-with-an-mpa-108.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Grand Valley State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.