Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Grand Valley State University logo

Grand Valley State University · Public, Nonprofit, & Health Administration

Master of Health Administration

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 48- to 51-credit MHA delivered primarily through evening hybrid courses for full-time and part-time students. Students with limited healthcare or management experience complete a 3-credit internship, and the program ends with a capstone seminar. Tuition is a single per-credit graduate rate with no residency distinction.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Allendale, MI
Required credits
48 to 51 credit hours, depending on whether the internship is required
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Winter
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Orientation Not verified

    Admitted students should plan to attend a New Graduate Student Orientation.

    once

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    3-credit internship for students with less than 2 years of full-time healthcare or management-level work experience

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Students with relevant experience must submit a waiver request.
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • PNH 685 Public Service Leadership Seminar is the capstone course; may be substituted with PNH 693 Research Project with approval.
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • 16 core courses (48 credits) including one health informatics course.
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate background in any field
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0; alternatives such as strong GRE scores or professional experience may be considered.
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay/personal statement on interest in the MHA program
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations from academic and/or professional sources
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredStrong GRE scores may be considered as alternative evidence of academic potential.
Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Winter

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Other deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Health Administration (M.H.A.) - College of Education and Community InnovationFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$859per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$41,232 = 48 credits × $859 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $41,232 (48 credits × $859 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Health Administration (M.H.A.) - College of Education and Community Innovation, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • Graduate rates are based on academic program; there are no separate rates based on residency.
    Source: gvsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. gvsu.edu/catalog/program/master-of-health-administration.htm — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. gvsu.edu/financialaid/tuition-fees-26-27-268.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. gvsu.edu/pnha/developing-innovative-lifelong-healthcare-leaders-169.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. gvsu.edu/pnha/lead-the-way-with-an-mpa-108.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. gvsu.edu/pnha/mha-program-of-study-170.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. gvsu.edu/pnha/prospective-student-resources-129.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Grand Valley State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.