Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Scranton logo

University of Scranton · Health Administration and Human Resources Department

Health Administration, BS

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Health Administration

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degree

Overview

A 127-credit BS in Health Administration with Generalist and Long-term Care Administration concentrations, a built-in business administration minor and a required 120-hour internship.

Official program name
Health Administration, BS
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Health Administration
Source: scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Scranton, PA
Specializations
Health Administration Generalist Program · Long-term Care Administration Program
Source: admissions.scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
127 credits (sample curriculum)
Source: admissions.scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

Entry routes are not published on the pages we checked. Do not assume first-year, transfer or second-degree entry — ask the admissions office.

Why this program is listed

Undergraduate major in Health Administration (BS).

Source: scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Format not verified
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    Required three-credit, 120-hour internship; a second three-credit internship is an elective.

    Published hours:
    120 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: admissions.scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Accelerated BS/MHA: selected students may fulfill up to 12 undergraduate credits through graduate study in the MHA.
    Source: admissions.scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

No program-level accreditation or certification verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Licensure disclosures

A healthcare administration degree is not a clinical license. Some roles, such as nursing home administrator, are licensed by each state separately.

  • Completing the long-term care curriculum meets some of the educational requirements of the Pennsylvania State Board of Licensure for Nursing Home Administrators.
    Source: admissions.scranton.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. admissions.scranton.edu/academic-programs/academic-programs-pdfs/health-administration.pdf — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. admissions.scranton.edu/academic-programs/majors-minors/programs/health-administration.shtml — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. scranton.edu/academics/pcps/hahr/index.shtml — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Pennsylvania State University logo

Pennsylvania State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Policy and Administration

Health Policy and Administration, B.S.

Bachelor'sBS AUPHA certified
Location: University Park, PA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship
View Program
Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Scranton. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.