Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Minnesota logo

University of Minnesota · Division of Health Policy & Management

Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A full-time, in-person cohort MHA of 60 credits over 21 months, starting each September, for students with limited healthcare management experience. A summer residency between the first and second years is required, so admission is limited to applicants with U.S. work authorization that does not need sponsorship. The program states it is CAHME accredited and the GRE is not required.

Official program name
Master of Healthcare Administration (MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Required credits
60 credits (51 required, 9 electives)
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
21 months beginning in September each year
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Delivered with a learning cohort model in which all students start together. A JD/MHA dual degree with the Law School (four years) is mentioned on the program page without a dedicated page.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Healthcare Administration.

Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Required summer residency between the first and second years of study.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Students learn and apply The Minnesota Problem Solving Method.
    Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Preferred undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedStatistics, accounting and microeconomics highly recommended before matriculation
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Healthcare experience
Not requiredPrior healthcare experience is not required; relevant work experience is considered
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose and objectives
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredApplicants who move to the next stage are invited to interview
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredAdmission limited to applicants with U.S. work authorization that does not require employer sponsorship (because of the summer residency)
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 90Internet-based 90 (600 paper, 250 computer) for applicants whose native language is not English.
Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall (September start; year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Final deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall (September start; year not printed)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — MHA Full-time track, resident, per credit$1,268per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$76,080 = 60 credits × $1,268 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA Full-time track, non-resident, per credit$1,668per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$100,080 = 60 credits × $1,668 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $100,080 (60 credits × $1,668 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — MHA Full-time track, non-resident, per credit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

  • Because of the residency requirement, students must be eligible to work legally in the U.S.; the university and placement sites cannot provide visa sponsorship for residency positions.Source: sph.umn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mha/master-healthcare-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mha/master-healthcare-administration/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mha/master-healthcare-administration/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mha/master-healthcare-administration/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. sph.umn.edu/academics/graduate/mph/distance-public-health-administration-policy/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. sph.umn.edu/prospective/tuition-finances/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Minnesota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Minnesota. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.