Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Tulane University logo

Tulane University · Department of Health Policy and Management

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

An in-person cohort MHA in New Orleans aimed at early-career students, completed in 22 months, with an administrative residency taken in the summer, integrated across the first and second years, or after the second year.

Official program name
Master of Health Administration (MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Health Administration
Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
New Orleans, LA
Required credits
48 credit hours plus administrative residency (2026-2027 catalog); program web page states 54 credits
Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
22 months
Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The same MHA is offered online for working professionals (recorded separately).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.

Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Administrative residency Required

    Administrative residency (SPHL 9980) with three options: summer, integrated, or post-didactic; approximately 400 hours (per dual-degree catalog pages)

    Published hours:
    400 hours
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Minimum of 2 letters of recommendation, plus resume/CV
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition (per credit hour) for all degree programs, 2026-2027; no in-state/out-of-state differenceFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,841per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$88,368 = 48 credits × $1,841 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $88,368 (48 credits × $1,841 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Tuition (per credit hour) for all degree programs, 2026-2027; no in-state/out-of-state difference, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Academic Support Fee (per credit hour)
$100 per creditMandatory
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Technology Fee (per semester), on-ground students
$100 per semesterMandatory
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus Health Fee (per semester), full-time
$437 per semesterMandatory
Source: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonrefundable application fee
$75 entire programMandatory
Source: online.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: sph.tulane.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.tulane.edu/public-health-tropical-medicine/health-policy-management/master-health-administra — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.tulane.edu/public-health/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. sph.tulane.edu/how-apply-sphtm — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. sph.tulane.edu/hpam/mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sph.tulane.edu/hpam/online-mha — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. sph.tulane.edu/tuition-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Louisiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration

Army-Baylor Program – Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHAOther pathway CAHME accredited
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Two years (one didactic year and one residency year) · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program
Baylor University logo

Baylor University

Master of Health Administration and Master of Business Administration

Army-Baylor Program – MHA and Master of Business Administration (MBA) dual degree

Master'sMHA/MBAJoint degreeOther pathway
Location: Waco, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 87 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Tulane University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.