Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
Towson University logo

Towson University · Department of Health Sciences

Major in Health Care Management

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts (major in Health Care Management)

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degree AUPHA certified

Overview

A Health Care Management major of 54 required units plus a required 24-unit Business Administration minor (78 units in total), ending in a 15-week, 12-unit, full-time internship in a health care organization. An optional Long-Term Care Administration track is available.

Official program name
Major in Health Care Management
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts (major in Health Care Management)
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Towson, MD
Specializations
Long-Term Care Administration Track (optional)
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
54 required major units plus a required 24-unit Business Administration minor, 78 units total (degree minimum not stated on this page)
Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Towson's catalog lists the department's bachelor's degrees as B.S./B.A.; the specific degree type for this major is not stated separately.

How students enter this degree

Entry routes are not published on the pages we checked. Do not assume first-year, transfer or second-degree entry — ask the admissions office.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor's degree (B.S./B.A.) with a major in Health Care Management.

Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    15-week, 12-unit, full-time (40-hour week) internship in a health care organization; mandatory, unpaid, no waivers

    Published hours:
    15 weeks
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Internship

  • Internship eligibility requires senior status and completion of all other coursework for the degree
    Source: catalog.towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • The internship is mandatory, unpaid, and has no waivers
    Source: towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate full-time tuition and fees (12-15 units/term), MD resident, estimated annualFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$12,690per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate full-time tuition and fees (12-15 units/term), out-of-state, estimated annualFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$32,948per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) — certification: certifiedProgram covered: Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts (major in Health Care Management)Undergraduate health care management programAUPHA certification is a peer-reviewed undergraduate certification, not accreditation. About AUPHA certificationSource: towson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.towson.edu/undergraduate/health-professions/health-sciences/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.towson.edu/undergraduate/health-professions/health-sciences/health-care-management/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. towson.edu/admissions/tuition/index.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. towson.edu/chp/departments/health-sciences/undergrad/health-care/internship/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. towson.edu/chp/departments/health-sciences/undergrad/health-care/why-study.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Maryland first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Idaho State University logo

Idaho State University

Bachelor of Business Administration

B.B.A. Healthcare Administration

Bachelor'sBBA AUPHA certified
Location: Pocatello, ID
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: internship (180 hours)
View Program
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

Bachelor of Health Services Administration

Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA) — Traditional

Bachelor'sBHSADegree completion
Location: Miami, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 5 Semesters (upper-division program after 60 credits or an AA)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
Location: San Marcos, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: administrative residency
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Towson University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.