Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Traditional MHA (MHA)

Awarded degree: Master of Healthcare Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

The traditional MHA for early-career students requires a minimum of 48 hours, includes healthcare-specific courses and an administrative internship, and takes two years full-time or three years part-time. Admission is for fall semester.

Official program name
Traditional MHA (MHA)
Awarded degree
Master of Healthcare Administration
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Required credits
Minimum MHA (traditional) Master Hours: 48
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two years full-time; three years part-time
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Healthcare Administration.

Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
Format not verified
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    The program of study includes an administrative internship.

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Healthcare experience
RecommendedNo specific educational background required; demonstrated commitment to healthcare through volunteer or work experience sought.
Source: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Healthcare AdministrationMaster of Healthcare Administration (David Eccles School of Business)CAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: catalog.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.utah.edu/programs/HADM.MHA — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Utah first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Weber State University logo

Weber State University

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (In-Person)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Ogden, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Four semesters, excluding summers (full-time) (Full-time attendance)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: field experience
View Program
Weber State University logo

Weber State University

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration and Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration Accelerated Graduate Degree Pathway 3+2

Master'sBS/MHAJoint degreeAccelerated
Location: Ogden, UT
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: As little as five years (3 years undergraduate + 2 years graduate)
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Utah. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.