Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees

Medical University of South Carolina · Department of Healthcare Leadership & Management

Master in Health Administration - Hybrid

Awarded degree: Master in Health Administration

Master'sMHADedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

A 49-credit MHA delivered in seven-week courses that combine online work with in-person classes on Mondays in Charleston, with standard (eight-semester) and accelerated (five-semester) plans and three start terms a year. A 6-credit practicum can be waived for students with substantial prior health care leadership experience.

Official program name
Master in Health Administration - Hybrid
Awarded degree
Master in Health Administration
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Charleston, SC
Required credits
49 credits (43 if the practicum is waived)
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
eight semesters (standard plan) or five semesters (accelerated plan)
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same curriculum as the online MHA (separate record); standard and accelerated plans of study are options within this program.

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master in Health Administration (MHA).

Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • In-person class sessions Required

    In-person classes one day per week on Mondays

    weekly (Mondays) · MUSC campus, Charleston, SC

    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Practicum Required

    Healthcare Administration Practicum (HAP 795, 6 credits) in real organizations, including MUSC Health and regional partners

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Placement arrangement not stated
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Waiver:
    Students with substantial prior health care administration or leadership experience may qualify to waive the practicum (43 credit hours total).
    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • HAP790 Healthcare Administration Capstone (3 credits)
    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution or foreign equivalent
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher; applicants below 3.0 may apply with optional essay and resume
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
OptionalResume and personal essay encouraged if GPA is below 3.0
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredCannot admit international students requiring an F-1 visa
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredRequired if English is not the native language and the applicant has not studied in the US; may be waived for US degrees.
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    December 2, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Final deadline

    April 7, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Final deadline

    July 28, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — In-state and out-of-state tuition (same rate)$705per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$34,545 = 49 credits × $705 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $34,545 (49 credits × $705 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — In-state and out-of-state tuition (same rate), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Application Fee (per application)
$100 entire programMandatory
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Matriculation Fee (upon applicant acceptance)
$500 entire programMandatory
Source: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master in Health AdministrationOne standardized curriculum delivered in two formats, online and hybridCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: chp.musc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. chp.musc.edu/departments/healthcare-leadership-management — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. chp.musc.edu/programs/master-health-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in South Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Health Administration

Executive Track Master of Health Administration

Master'sMHAExecutive CAHME accredited
Location: Columbia, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Part-time
Duration: Approximately 32 months across eight semesters · 45 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — MHA Executive Track, Part-Time (per credit hour), Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,876.25 (45 credits × $597.25 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Juris Doctor and Master of Health Administration

Juris Doctor / Master of Health Administration Combination Degree

Master'sJD/MHAJoint degree CAHME accredited
Location: Columbia, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Shortest completion time: 8 semesters and 2 summers
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (Traditional Track)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Columbia, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Length not published · 58 credits
Tuition: $6,867 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Full-time (12-16 hours), per semester, Resident · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Residency / internship not verified
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Medical University of South Carolina. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.