Skip to content
Healthcare AdministrationDegrees
California State University, Long Beach logo

California State University, Long Beach · Department of Health Care Management

Master of Science in Health Care Administration (Traditional)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Care Administration

Master'sMSDedicated degree CAHME accredited

Overview

CAHME-accredited, 45-unit MSHCA for new graduates, early-career professionals and international students, with courses Monday-Thursday in fall, spring and summer, an internship course and a project; part-time or full-time, usually completed in two to three years.

Official program name
Master of Science in Health Care Administration (Traditional)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Care Administration
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
Pathway
Standard pathway
School
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Long Beach, CA
Required credits
minimum of 45 units
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
two to three years (Printed as what most students take.)
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Care Administration.

Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “No required campus visits” appears only when official wording supports it — online coursework alone does not establish it.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendance
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Administrative residency, internship and practical experience

Practical training happens at a health organization, not on campus, and is shown separately from campus attendance. Hours, who arranges the placement and whether it can be completed near home are shown only when the university publishes them.
  • Internship Required

    HCA 580 Internship in Health Care Administration; the department has affiliations with regional and local health care organizations for field experience

    Published hours:
    Not published
    Placement:
    Program assists with placement
    Near the student's home:
    Not stated
    Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

Project

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or above from the bachelor's degree; candidates slightly below may be considered
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredFinancial accounting, microeconomics and statistics (9 units, C or better, within the last ten years)
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Purpose
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — California Resident Graduate and Post-Baccalaureate Fees (2026-2027): Total Tuition & Mandatory Fees Per Semester, part-time (0-6 units) $3,437.00 / full-time (7+ units) $5,231.00From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$3,437 – $5,231per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Tuition: add $471.00 per unit to the resident totalFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per creditEstimated tuition$21,195 = 45 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $21,195 (45 credits × $471 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-Resident Tuition: add $471.00 per unit to the resident total, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Scholarships, assistantships, fellowships, tuition discounts and employer support exactly as the university publishes them. Competitive awards are not guaranteed; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Tuition and scholarships guide

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions

Separate questions: is the institution accredited, is this specific program accredited or certified (CAHME for graduate healthcare management programs, AUPHA certification for undergraduate programs), and does the university publish restrictions on who can enroll?

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Program accreditation and certification

  • Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Science in Health Care AdministrationTraditional and accelerated-format MSHCACAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: csulb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. csulb.edu/college-of-health-human-services/health-care-administration — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. csulb.edu/college-of-health-human-services/health-care-management/master-of-science-health-care — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. csulb.edu/student-records/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Northridge, CA
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: 2 to 4 years, depending on the course plan selected (Depends on the 2-, 3- or 4-year course plan chosen.)
Tuition: $5,019 per semester · All students — Graduate/Post Baccalaureate, 6.1+ units, total tuition and other fees per semester (Fall '26 / Spring '27) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: field experience (300 hours)
View Program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Master of Health Administration

Master of Health Administration (MHA)

Master'sMHA CAHME accredited
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Two-year course sequencing (full time) (Full-time enrollment) · 48 credits
Tuition: $2,539 per credit · All students — Tuition ($2,539/unit) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $121,872 (48 credits × $2,539 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
Practical training: Required: administrative residency (1000 hours)
View Program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Master of Health Administration and Master of Science in Gerontology

Master of Health Administration/Master of Science in Gerontology (MHA/MSG)

Master'sMHA/MSGJoint degree
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: Format not verifiedFormat not verified · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 78 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Practical training: Required: practicum
View Program

Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with California State University, Long Beach. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.