
University of Southern California · USC Sol Price School of Public Policy
Master of Health Administration (MHA)
Awarded degree: Master of Health Administration
Overview
A 48-unit on-campus MHA (40 required units, 8 elective units) in Los Angeles following a two-year course sequence, including a 1,000-hour residency under a senior-level manager. Price states the program is CAHME accredited.
- Official program name
- Master of Health Administration (MHA)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Health AdministrationSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Program classification
- Dedicated healthcare administration degreeThe awarded degree or official major is healthcare administration or management itself (an MHA, an MS in Healthcare Management, a BS in Health Administration, a DHA).
- Pathway
- Standard pathway
- School
- Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Location
- Los Angeles, CA
- Required credits
- 48 units (40 required, 8 elective)Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Duration
- Two-year course sequencing (full time) (Full-time enrollment)Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Start terms
- FallSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
The online Executive MHA is a separate program with its own admissions, curriculum and tuition (separate record).
Why this program is listed
Awarded degree is a Master of Health Administration.
Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026We list healthcare administration bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated and joint degrees, and (separately labelled) MBA, MPH and other degrees with an officially named healthcare administration pathway. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Campus attendance
- Regular campus attendance
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Full-timeSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Administrative residency, internship and practical experience
Administrative residency Required
1,000-hour residency working under the direction of a senior-level manager, in the second year.
- Published hours:
- 1000 hours
- Placement:
- Placement arrangement not stated
- Near the student's home:
- Not stated
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Admissions
- Minimum GPA
- RecommendedMinimum 3 — Successful applicants generally have at least a 3.0 undergraduate GPA.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Prerequisite courses
- RequiredCollege-level statistics or econometrics course with a B or better within three years of matriculation (waiver possible).Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredStatement of purpose of approximately 750-1,500 words.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation, including at least one academic reference.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredCurrent resume.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Interview
- Not requiredThe admission review does not include an interview.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Application fee
- Required$105 — $105 application fee.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- GMAT
- Not requiredSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- TOEFL iBT
- RequiredInternational students; TOEFL or IELTS within 24 months of the first term.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Upcoming
Scholarship deadline
December 15, 2026 · for Fall 2027
Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026 - Upcoming
International applicantsInternational applicants
May 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027
Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026 - Upcoming
Final deadlineDomestic applicants
July 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027
Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Tuition ($2,539/unit) | $2,539 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$121,872 = 48 credits × $2,539 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $121,872 (48 credits × $2,539 per credit)
Comparison basis: All students — Tuition ($2,539/unit), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Other published fees
- USC Health Center Fee (fall and spring terms)
- $720 per semesterMandatorySource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- USC Transportation Services Fee (fall and spring terms)
- $151 per semesterMandatorySource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- PPD Lab Fee (PPD 509), first fall
- $250 per courseMandatorySource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
USC Price merit scholarships ScholarshipCompetitive
Generally renewable for a second year
Eligibility: Complete the admission application by December 15 and the scholarship essays; awards made at admission and generally renewable for a second year with satisfactory progress.
Source: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Accreditation, certification and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Program accreditation and certification
- Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) — programmatic accreditation: accreditedProgram covered: Master of Health AdministrationMaster of Health AdministrationCAHME accredits specific graduate programs, not universities. About CAHMESource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
- The Executive MHA is not currently authorized for students residing in New Jersey, Mississippi, North Dakota and Puerto Rico. Official pageSource: priceschool.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/master-of-health-administration-mha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/master-of-health-administration-mha/mha-admission/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/master-of-health-administration-mha/mha-curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/master-of-health-administration-mha/mha-tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/online-executive-master-of-health-administration-emha/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- priceschool.usc.edu/academics/masters/online-executive-master-of-health-administration-emha/online-e — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Healthcare Administration
Master of Healthcare Administration (on campus)
California State University, Long Beach
Master of Science in Health Care Administration
Master of Science in Health Care Administration (Accelerated)
Healthcare Administration Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Southern California. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.